In the back of my mind, there is the worry that my FAFSA won't come through favorably.
We're several weeks into classes and many of us have still not received our financial aid results. We've already received our kits and have started cutting and dying the mannequins. I have no idea what I'm going to do if nothing is offered. I already know I'm not eligible for the Pell Grant because I have a 4yr degree. I had $12,000 in loans from university that went into default for a week, but then I was able to pay off the entire amount due to special circumstances that will not happen again. I don't know if that will be held against me, too. Probably. In this way, the other girls are lucky. They haven't received government aid and have no negative loan history. Some were upset that they didn't receive the entire amount and that their parents would have to cosign on a parent plus loan to cover everything. They don't know, that's just how it is. That's how it works. Now I can only cross my fingers for myself and pray that I won't have to drop out and owe $2000 for the kit plus whatever hours they're going to charge me for.
May they have mercy on my soul.

No comments:
Post a Comment